Saturday, November 24, 2018

Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories Kindle Edition by R J Palacio

Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories, by R J Palacio

Auggie and Me: This is the second book written by R. J. Palacio after ‘Wonder’. For those of you who haven’t read her earlier book, it talks about the difficulties in the life of a boy named Auggie Pullman who has a physically deformed face and bad health. ‘Auggie and Me’, is related to Wonder, but it doesn’t talk about Auggie. It talks about the people in Auggie’s life. These two books made me read ‘The curious incident of the dog in the night time’, as all three talk about boys who have some problems with social interaction but are extremely talented and unique when you get to know them. It is like their backstory, sharing a little bit of what it was like before they met Auggie, and their experience with him. There are three stories in it – one from Julian’s perspective (a boy who bullied Auggie), Christopher (Auggie’s earlier friend) and Charlotte (a girl who is kind to Auggie).

My favourite one was the last story, the one through Charlotte’s eyes, because I could relate to it more than the others. The one from Julian’s perspective was interesting too, as it shows his side of the story and you see him in a different light from the one in the earlier book. The part about Charlotte talks a lot about friendship and the troubles she’s had with it. Ellie, her best friend leaves her, and later she struggles to keep up her friendship with Summer, an optimistic, friendly girl and Ximena, a popular, stand-offish girl, and funny person, if you get to know her.

Kindle Preview:

© 2018, Anvita Agarwal. All rights reserved.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.